Conductor - Giordano Bellincampi
Piano - Alexander Gavrylyuk*

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No.1
Respighi - Trittico Botticelliano
Haydn - Symphony No.103 ‘Drumroll’

Tchaikovsky’s monumental concerto is a summit of the pianist’s repertoire, and the stupendous Ukrainian-born Australian pianist Alexander Gavrylyuk will give a blazing performance.

Inspired by a visit to the Uffizi Gallery, Respighi perfectly caught the timeless serenity of Botticelli’s paintings in his charming suite for small orchestra.

A dramatic timpani flourish opens Haydn’s second-last symphony, but it gives way to a sunny, good-humoured piece. Giordano Bellincampi brings out the spirit of this most optimistic of composers.

Notes Fund - Music for this concert has been supported by David Lovell.

* Please note Alexander Gavrylyuk replaces the previously advertised Khatia Buniatishvili

$2 per hour to a max of $12 on weekends and a $12 flat rate for weekday evenings at The Civic car park. Find out more

Last updated: 06 July 2023