The NZ International Comedy Festival are kicking off 2023 with big laughs, fresh talent and one massive comedy showcase: Billy T Jams!

Five of Aotearoa’s best new comedians are hitting Q’s Rangatira stage this March as they start their quest for the title of Billy T Award winner - and the coveted yellow towel!

Your 2023 Billy T nominees are:

  • Gabby Anderson
  • Jack Ansett
  • Janaye Henry
  • Abby Howells
  • Maria Williams

The festival is stoked to have their 2021 Billy T Award winner, and Celebrity Treasure Island’s very own ‘Puzzle Queen’, Brynley Stent hosting the show.

Named after comedy legend Billy T James, the Billy T Award recognises emerging comedians with outstanding talent, who are destined for big things. Ewen Gilmour and Cal Wilson took home the very first award back in 1997, and in the 26 years since winners have included Rose Matafeo, Angella Dravid, Dai Henwood and Kura Forrester.

Don’t miss your chance to catch these five killer comics before they hit the big time!

Proceeds from this event will support the New Zealand Comedy Trust, producers of the NZ International Comedy Festival, and continue their work supporting the development of the local comedy industry.

Enjoy two hours of free parking or $5 evening and weekend rates. Find out more. Ride on public transport from as little as $2 each way. Find out more.
Last updated: 19 January 2023