Conductor Giordano Bellincampi 
Piano Ingrid Fliter 

Leonie Holmes New work 
Schumann Piano Concerto 
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.4

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony opens with a stark fanfare which, Tchaikovsky said, represented ‘Fate, that ominous power’, adding ‘There is no alternative but to submit to Fate’. His friend and patron, Mme von Meck, heard ‘profound, terrifying despair’ in this music. True, but it has also passion, drama and ultimately catharsis. 

The superb pianist Ingrid Fliter returns with Schumann’s ineffably poetic concerto, and to open the concert, a new work from the multifaceted Auckland composer, and former APO composer-in-residence, Leonie Holmes.


Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra (APO)

Free Weekend Parking with Wilson and ParkMate this October. Find out more.

Come into the city centre on public transport for as little as $2 each way. Find out more.

Last updated: 22 January 2020