Conductor Johannes Fritzsch
Violin Liu-Yi Retallick

Price The Oak
Barber Violin Concerto
Dvořák Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World’

Two American composers, Florence Price and Samuel Barber, are joined by a visitor. Dvořák was living in New York when he composed his Ninth Symphony. Just before giving the conductor the score, he hastily scrawled that evocative title on the front page.

Asked about the future of American music, Dvořák predicted it would spring from African and Native traditions. He would have loved this magisterial tone-poem by the pioneering African-American composer Florence Price.

Liu-Yi Retallick steps out from the orchestra to play Barber’s beautiful concerto, one of the very loveliest works for the violin.

Part of The New Zealand Herald Premier Series for APO's 2021 season

2021 Johannes Fritzsch headshot.jpg

Johannes Fritzsch

$2 per hour to a max of $12 on weekends and a $12 flat rate for weekday evenings at The Civic car park. Find out more

Last updated: 06 December 2020