$23 - $68 (Limited $10 ‘Rush Tickets’ available)

Born and raised in Finland, Vesa-Matti Leppänen moved to New Zealand in 2000. For well over a decade he has been Concertmaster of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and has earned international recognition as a chamber musician, teacher, adjudicator and soloist.

Vesa-Matti Leppänen has gathered an impressive group of friends, including principal players from the NZSO, to perform a programme that shines a light on the sensational horn playing of Samuel Jacobs. After several years playing principal horn in London with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Samuel returned to New Zealand in 2017 to take up a permanent position with our national orchestra.

The ensemble will perform the most cherished piece of chamber music for horn, Mozart’s Quintet, and will be joined by a second horn player from the NZSO to play a rarely performed work, Beethoven’s Sextet in E flat Major. To mark the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, the group will also perform his String Trio in E flat as part of their programme.


  • BEETHOVEN String Trio in E flat major, Op 3
  • MOZART Horn Quintet in E flat major, K407
  • BEETHOVEN Sextet for two horns and string quartet in E flat major, Op 81b


Vesa-Matti Leppänen, Violin
Nicholas Hancox, Viola
Andrew Thomson, Violin
Andrew Joyce, Cello
Samuel Jacobs, French Horn
Euan Harvey, French Horn

98 minutes including an interval

Yes, 45 minutes prior to performance

$2 per hour to a max of $12 on weekends and a $12 flat rate for weekday evenings at The Civic car park. Find out more

Last updated: 08 January 2020