Conductor Anja Bihlmaier 
Violin Grace Clifford 

Bernstein Three Dance Episodes from On the Town 
Barber Violin Concerto
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances 

Written in 1944, Bernstein’s On the Town follows three sailors on twenty-four hours’ leave in New York. This suite from the show captures its irrepressible exuberance, and also the poignancy of young people in those dramatic, uncertain times. 

The prodigiously talented Australian violinist Grace Clifford plays one of the loveliest works for the violin -  the lyrical, autumnal concerto by Bernstein’s compatriot Samuel Barber. 

The Symphonic Dances was Rachmaninov’s last work. Darkly glittering, exhilarating, and above all permeated with the very soul of Russia, it’s a summation of his life and music.

Get out and about with easy and affordable Parking and Transport

Last updated: 21 January 2020