Conductor Giordano Bellincampi
Cello Edgar Moreau

Tchaikovsky Capriccio Italien
Tchaikovsky Variations on a Rococo Theme
Schumann Symphony No.3 'Rhenish' 

On holiday in Italy, Tchaikovsky collected folk tunes, bugle calls and dances, and tied them all loosely together in an exuberant confection.

If the Capriccio perhaps teeters rather splendidly on the edge of kitsch, his charming Rococo Variations is impeccably tasteful. Tchaikovsky adored Mozart and Haydn, and this delicate miniature cello concerto is his finest tribute to them. The young French cellist Edgar Moreau is bound to thrill in his Auckland Phil debut.

Giordano Bellincampi brings more exuberance to finish the concert, in Schumann’s sunniest symphony. This is also holiday music, being inspired by an idyllic journey Schumann and his wife Clara took to the Rhineland.

Get $2 parking per hour to a maximum of $15 on evenings and weekends at the Downtown car park. Find out more

Kids ride free on public transport on weekends and public holidays. Find out more.

Last updated: 15 May 2024