Conductor Clemens Schuldt 
Oboe Bede Hanley 

Debussy Prélude à L’Après-midi d’une faune 
Gary Kulesha Oboe Concerto (world premiere) 
Prokofiev Symphony No.7 

In another example of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra's (APO) growing international reputation, the Canadian composer Gary Kulesha has written a new concerto for our principal oboe, Bede Hanley. 

Debussy’s little masterpiece is the languid, ecstatic music of a hot summer afternoon lying in the grass. It’s also quietly revolutionary. Modern music began here. 

Prokofiev’s last symphony is direct and tuneful, in the best Russian tradition, but there’s more to it than that. It was written by a sick man, in dark straits, and below the nostalgic surface is a yearning for his lost happiness.

Park for $2 per hour at The Civic car park on weekends. Find out more.

Come into the city centre on public transport for as little as $2 each way. Find out more.

Last updated: 22 January 2020