15 January - 22 February, 2021

The racing rundown and latest COVID-19 related details

Covid 19 Update
As a result of the Government announcement of Auckland moving to Level 2 from midnight February 17, racing will continue from Saturday February 20 and over the weekend under the following conditions: 

  • Racecourses B & C will not be used for racing, to mitigate the chance of large public gatherings on shore, which are in line with Government Level 2 restrictions.
  • No public viewing opportunities such as dock out shows or public screening of racing in the Race Village.
  • The Race Village will be able to hold no more than 100 people, and this is the same for other public spectator vantage points around Auckland.
  • Activations inside the Village will be limited to ensure no more than 100 people.
  • 2 metre physical distancing, and face masks recommended.
  • All bars, restaurants and cafes surrounding the Race Village can remain open in line with Ministry of Health COVID-19 Level 2 Guidelines.
  • Public are reminded to always scan the NZCOVID19 Tracer App.

The quest for the ultimate prize, the 36th America's Cup, begins with winning the Prada Cup Challenger Selection Series - an epic month of racing taking place from January 15 to February 22. 

The Prada Cup consists of four round robins of three races each, a 7 race semi-final and a 13 race final between the two leading teams. Each win gets one point. The teams racing are INEOS Team UK and Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli. After one weekend of racing, Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli leads 4-0. 

The PRADA Cup Final will then determine the Challenger for the “36th America’s Cup presented by PRADA” Match: the winner - the first team to get seven points – will challenge the Defender, Emirates Team New Zealand, and will receive the PRADA Cup – a striking new trophy designed by renowned designer Marc Newson (CBE) and painstakingly handcrafted by Florentine silversmiths.

Flat fee of $7 per day on weekends at Fanshawe Street carpark. Find out more.

Kids ride free on public transport on weekends and public holidays. Find out more

Last updated: 06 October 2020