Tickets on sale 15 Nov
17 MAY, 2024, 7:30PM

Leonie Holmes I watched a shadow [World Premiere]
Richard Strauss Don Quixote
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

NZSO will be conducted for the first time by international sensation Han-Na Chang, with NZSO Section Principal Cellist Andrew Joyce and NZSO Section Principal Violist Julia Joyce as soloists.

Korean conductor Han-Na Chang is “one of her generation’s most exciting conductors” (Lars Flydal, Vårtland), capable of making an orchestra “play in a way I did not know they were capable of” (Magnus Andersson, Klassekampe). A cello prodigy who won First Prize at the Rostropovich International Cello Competition at just 11 years old, she switched to conducting at 24 and has electrified audiences ever since. Who better to conduct a performance of Richard Strauss’s tone poem for cello and orchestra, Don Quixote? Principal Cellist Andrew Joyce steps into the spotlight to give voice to the love-mad protagonist of Cervantes’s novel.

We are delighted to premiere a new work by Kiwi composer Leonie Holmes, whose evocative style echoes the Impressionism of last century. We then conclude with a milestone work, Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony. The first movement’s implacable main theme, balanced by the horn’s irresistibly moving second movement melody, embodies the big bold emotions of the Romantic era.

Han Na Chang

$2 per hour to a max of $12 on weekends and a $12 flat rate for weekday evenings at The Civic car park. Find out more

Last updated: 02 November 2023