Conductor Giordano Bellincampi
Violin Benjamin Baker

Weber Euryanthe: Overture
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1
J.S. Bach (arr. Webern) The Musical Offering: Ricercar
Mendelssohn Symphony No.5 ‘Reformation’

Described by its composer as a ‘grand heroic-romantic opera’, Euryanthe flopped in the theatre. Its overture, however, has always been popular, perhaps because it lets us hear the wonderful music from the opera without the burden of its preposterous plot.

Bruch’s First Violin Concerto was an instant success, a captivating blend of romance and gypsy vivacity. Benjamin Baker, a previous Michael Hill International Violin Competition finalist, returns home to New Zealand for this performance.

Webern’s loving tribute to J.S. Bach is followed by Mendelssohn’s tribute to Martin Luther, ending with the sturdy chorale ‘A Mighty Fortress Is Our God’.

Also at Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra 2021 Season

Park for $2 per hour at The Civic car park on weekends. Find out more

Come into the city centre on public transport for as little as $2 each way. Find out more.

Last updated: 03 December 2020